Heya everybody I know it's been a while
since I last wrote a review, sorry about that I will try to do
better. So last night I finished The Problem With Forever! I
want to say first that this review will have spoilers later on and I
will warn you before I get to that section but here is the no
spoilers review.
I found this book to be extremely
cliche, but not in an awful way. The ending did surprise me somewhat
which is good! I thought the whole book would be cheesy and
predictable! I didn't hate it, which you all know takes a lot for me
to say especially for sappy romance novels since the genre usually
leaves me wanting to vomit. (Good news I didn't this time!) Some
things you should know about this novel before you read it: if you
have experienced a very rough childhood and don't wish to be reminded
of somewhat similar circumstances do not read this novel (at times
there are vivid descriptions of abuse physical and verbal), if you
cannot stand any amount of romance don't read this novel (I really
hate romance and this book was filled to the brim with it), and if
you hate reading don't read this book (really needed a third thing to
make the commas worth it guys).
So I personally sorta liked this book.
I took two school days to read it but I started reading later on the
first night (to give you an idea how long I think it was a little
less than five hundred pages or so but I wouldn't swear to that). I
was first drawn to it by the super cute clover with these rainbow
water colors because water colors are one of the most fun things to
work with and it just brought up so many happy memories (but no water
coloring in the book I felt so cheated!). When I read the inside flap
summary thing I decided to get it because (no spoilers yet this is
all on the inside cover flap thingy) it said it was about a girl who
had gotten out of an abusive family but had been taken from the
foster child she'd grown up with and who protected her from a lot of
beatings and stuff like that. They were really, really close. So
since then she's been adopted by great parents and has gotten better
through therapy and homeschooling, but decides to go to her senior
year of high school at a public school where she ends up seeing (cue
the drums!) the boy she grew up with who she somehow doesn't think of
as a brother but as a love interest and that isn't creepy at all!!!!!
Seriously puke worthy for me anyway, but this story isn't awful and I
think you guys should check it out I think you'll be happily
surprised by the ending! If you can get past the thought of them
sorta being like brother and sister...that was hard for me.
HERE COME THE SPOILERS! AVERT YOUR EYES
IF YOU HAVE NOT READ AND WISH TO!!!!
So ok now I can just get my true
feelings out without being vague. What the heck? Ok so Mallory
is in love with Rider? Like how did they not see each other as
brother and sister? I mean they grew up together and took care of one
another like siblings, I mean it doesn't matter if you aren't related
by blood you are still brother and sister. I guess they didn't see it
that way because as we all could tell from the story they are happily
doing things siblings just should do not do to one another. It took
me a while to get past this and accept it because it was clear these
guys were lovey dovey from the get go but I tried, I already get
grossed out by romance normally I don't need to think about incest
being thrown into the mix. Blech! Gross! Ok still getting over that
image...onto the next topic!
I felt as if this wasn't the worst love
story I've ever read. Like it was nice that they weren't trying to be
up in each other’s business every five second and all which lately
in teen novels seems to be a common theme. Speaking of common themes,
why is it always that the girl is the inexperienced dater? I mean for
once can we have the boy in the novel be more nervous than the girl?
I mean I understand Mallory is a nervous person and all but come on!
I mean every freaking book, the girl is so nervous about it all and
the guy is just like “lemme show ya how to smooch sweet cakes”
and the girl’s like “but I'm nervous” and he's like “then
I'll take it slow honey bunny no rush” then she's like “well even
though I said I'm nervous I'm just gonna throw myself on top of you
now...because you were so kind and said we'll take it slow.” That's
not at all how the dialogue was in this book but this is just how
stupid romance novels sound to me all the time!
But anyways, onto the positive! So
remember when I mentioned that I liked the book (you know way at the
beginning before I said all these mean things) it was not for the new
found love and crap, or the fact that they killed off the one sane
person in the book...as usual. No I liked it because as stupid as the
story seemed, I was vaguely interested enough in reading it and was
pleasantly surprised when Mallory stood up for herself at the end of
the novel. To her beloved Rider too!!! I was all like “YOU GO GIRL
YOU ARE A STRONG INDEPENDANT GINGER WHO DON’T NEED NO BOYFRIEND WHO
HAS NO SELF ESTEEM! YOU TELL HIM THAT HE IS WORTH WHILE! WHOOP!”
And she also stood up for her career dreams to her parents or
whatever...less important. But I was honestly happy! Like she
understood that she could fight for herself and did, she screamed
love and affection (the only way to express these emotions if you ask
me) to Rider and told him he needed to get a grip and realize he
deserved happiness, family, and love, that he was isolating himself
from these things. I loved that this was not an immediate
change for Rider or Mallory. That at the end of the novel they were
each still working on believing they deserved happiness! I loved that
their happy ending didn't even happen in the book, that it was
established they were in a good place but needed to improve and
would. On a different note, I was also surprised when they got back
together because I thought this book might have wanted to focus on
the fact that sometimes no matter what you try, you can't change
people even if you love them. But nope, they just had to get back
together didn't they?
Overall I like how this book focused on
self growth and realizing that you are worth it. That no matter what
is in your past you can have a positive impact on others, and
can make a good life for yourself. I love positivity and try my best
to be positive in real life (just wanted to say because these reviews
can be pretty brutal). I know a lot of people take for granted
everything they have in life, while they don't even realize that
while their parents might give them a ten o'clock curfew to make sure
they are safe, somebody else in their school has to deal with
extremely brutal situations of their own. Yes we all have our flaws,
and I most certainly have a lot I'll be the first to say so! But I
believe that we shouldn't take for granted the opportunities our
lives give us, because like this book stresses, we don't always get a
second chance.

